Mmmmm molasses bread

by seedpods

I love bread! This bread was perhaps one of the easiest that I’ve ever made, but only made one loaf. I like having an extra loaf to freeze, so if I made it again (which I will) I’ll double the recipe.

Ingredients:

3 3/4 C whole wheat flour

1.5 tbsp yeast

2 C warm water

2 tbsp molasses

1/2 tbsp salt

Put flour in microwavable mixing bowl and microwave for 45 seconds or until both are warm. This is very important. Add yeast to water and add molasses. Allow to sit for 5-10 minutes, but keep an eye on it, as it will be super foamy. Add all other ingredients and put directly into a large bread pan. Cover and allow to rise until it’s grown by 1/3. Bake at 450 for 50 minutes. NOTE – while the recipe said this, it’s important to check the bread. Mine only took 25 minutes. Take out when top is brown and bread sounds hollow.

Adapted from Beard on Bread. Makes one loaf.

