Guilt blueberry valentines pie

by seedpods

I had a friend who, in a moment of weakness, I traded a pie for a backrub. The backrub was really good, but I failed to reciprocate in time. It happens that we made plans to bake a pie this weekend, so I got all the ingredients and baked it before she got here as a little surprise. As a result, I wasn’t able to taste it, but it smells amazing and the lattice crust was such a success. The crust is a family secret recipe, so I won’t share it, but I’ll put the filling recipe in here.

1 recipe of pie crust, divided in two and raw

4 C frozen blueberries

1/2 t cinnamon

1 tbsp  lemon juice

1/4 C flour

1/3 C sugar

Preheat oven to 425. Mix all together. Take pie crust, divide in two. Roll out half into 11 inch circle, place in greased pie dish. Pour in filling. Roll out other half of pie crust to same size. Lay on top of filling or cut into strips to weave into lattice. (For lattice, start from the middle and work your way out. Use a fork to crimp the edges of the pie. Bake for 10 minutes. Lower to 325 and bake for 40 more minutes. Let cool, enjoy.

Adapted from Betty Crocker. Serves six.

