Nora’s Irish soda bread

by seedpods

I had a hankering to make bread. This happens a lot, but due to general laziness and a dislike of waiting for things to rise and react with the yeast, I very rarely actually make it. On this occasion, however, I was headed to a potluck where both desert and entrée were already taken care of, so I had to branch out a little. Wasn’t it just my luck then, that I remembered a great bread recipe that my dad used that didn’t call for any yeast! His friend in college baked this bread EVERY DAY, and because he liked it so much, he got the recipe. It’s a crusty, hearty, brown bread that is great eaten plain or toasted. I hope you like it as much as I do!

Ingredients:

2 C whole wheat flour

1 1/2 C white flour

1/2 C wheat germ

1- 1.5 tsp baking soda

1/2 – 3/4 tsp cream of tartar

1/2-3/4 tsp salt

1 3/4 C buttermilk

Sieve white flour into a bowl. Add whole wheat flour and wheat germ. Put baking soda into palm of hand and press out lumps with fingers or the back of a spoon. Add baking soda, cream of tartar, and salt to dry ingredients. Mix well. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and pour in buttermilk, adding more milk if necessary. Turn onto a floured board and knead lightly. If dough is too sticky, more flour may be added as you knead it. Turn smooth side up, flatten out, and shape into a round loaf. Place on lightly floured cookie sheet. Cut a cross on top. Bake at 350°-400° for 35-45 minutes.

Serves at least four. From Nora Ni Chuiv’s soda bread recipe.

