Lazy wednesday lunch

by seedpods

Wednesday is my busy day. I have class and then newspaper, pretty much until the cows come home. Tuesday night, I knew that I wanted to make a fresh, two portion dinner that would serve as great leftovers for the next day, when I had absolutely no time to cook (and let’s not even talk about how horrible the dining hall option is). Whipping this up took almost no time, and it was quite tasty.

Ingredients:

1 red bell pepper

1/2 yellow squash, zucchini size

1/2 C rice

salt and pepper

lemon

1/2 onion

2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 avocado

First order of business: setting up the rice. Put the rice in a pot with 1 C water, and allow to boil. Once water reaches a boil, cover the top and reduce to low until rice cooks (about 20 minutes). Dice red pepper, squash, and onion. Put in pan with oil over medium heat. Stir regularly until vegetables look cooked. I tend to judge this on if the onions are transparent or not. My squash also got a bit golden. Add salt and pepper to taste, squeeze lemon wedge over top. Stir. Remove from heat. Mix with rice. Slice avocado over the top and enjoy!

Serves two. Original recipe.

