Risotto with summer veggies

by seedpods

Despite all my baking, I haven’t actually cooked dinner in quite a while. Much of this is because of my job, which keeps me occupied around dinner time. I also just frequently find myself not in the mood. Last night, I broke out of the cycle to make a dish that I’ve been wanting to try for a while, a risotto with seasonal vegetables that I would accompany with some antipasti. It turned out really well for a first try, and I look forward to tinkering with the vegetables and the cook time in the future.

Ingredients:

olive oil

1 zucchini, cubed

1 summer squash, cubed (I used a yellow straight necked variety)

1 diced red bell pepper

1 C chopped onion

1 clove garlic minced

1 tsp dried oregano (or 1 tbsp fresh chopped)

3 C chicken stock (original recipe called for veggie but I like the taste of chicken better)

3/4 C arborio rice

salt and pepper

Heat olive oil in sauce pan. Sauté zucc and squash for about five minutes. Do not cook until completely soft. Remove from heat, place in bowl. Add more oil. Cook peppers and onions. When almost tender, add garlic and oregano. Cook for a few more minutes, remove from heat, and place in bowl. Heat broth to almost boil. In separate large pan, toss rice with 1 tbsp olive oil over medium heat for two minutes. Do not burn. Add 3/4 cup broth to rice. Stir over medium heat until broth has been absorbed. Repeat with rest of broth, 3/4 C at a time. When all broth has been absorbed, add vegetables and stir until warmed thoroughly. Salt and pepper to taste.

Serves 4-6. Adapted from TLC Cooking.

