Tayberry freezer jam

by seedpods

While freezer jam isn’t the most mainstream of all jam types, it is certainly the easiest to make, which is why I’m surprised that I’ve never done so before. I’m a glutton for simple. I made this with my dad, which is how recipes should be learned. We had a flat of extra tayberries that were on the verge of going bad, and I’ve always wanted to make jam of some sort. This was great.

Ingredients:

4 C tayberries or loganberries (kind of like an elongated blackberry)

4.5 C sugar, granulated

1 C light corn syrup (to prevent crystallization)

1 box fruit pectin

Wash tayberries. Select some containers to put jam in. Must be freezer safe. I honestly don’t know the size that we put them in — I’d guess 1.5 to 2 C space. Mash berries with potato masher in mixing bowl until no large lumps remain. Re-measure, make sure that there are now 3.5 C. If not enough, mash more berries. Pour berries back into mixing bowl. Mix pectin in gradually while stirring. LET SIT FOR THIRTY MINUTES, stirring every five to make sure pectin is completely dissolved. This step is necessary but annoying, do it anyway. Stir in sugar gradually, then stir until no lumps remain. It told me to stir until the sugar had dissolved, but dad and I were lazy so we didn’t. Pour into containers, leaving at least 1/2 inch at the top of each for swell space. Let sit 24 hours and then freeze. Yumm.

