Classy veggie chili

by seedpods

Another day, another dinner where there will be a lot of people in my house. For some reason I like cooking for big groups, so I offered to cook again tonight. Soup seems to be my go-to choice for crowds, and this occasion was no different. I adapted a recipe that I clipped from the Seattle Times years ago, which has a good amount of vegetables and a really nice taste. It’s also super fast.

Ingredients:

~2 tbsp olive oil

1 large onion, diced

1 clove garlic, crushed/cut up

2 good sized carrots, cut into small circles

2 red bell peppers, diced

2 tsp chili powder

2 tsp cumin

2 cans diced tomatoes and their juice

3 cans black beans, drained

1 can kidney beans, drained

1 small can chopped green chilies

1.5 C water

1/2 tsp salt

Sautée carrots, bell pepper, onions and garlic in oil for ten minutes. Add all other ingredients. Bring to boil then reduce to simmer for at least twenty minutes to let flavors meld. I served this over rice (add twice as much water to a pan as rice, bring to boil, cover and turn to low. Cook for twenty minutes), and had optional hot sauce.

Serves eight. Adapted from The Seattle Times.

