Shortcake improved

by seedpods

I’ll admit, I’ve posted about shortcake before. But it wasn’t as good as this, because this time, everything went right. The berries were riper, I made the biscuits correctly, and I didn’t forget the whipped cream (find the recipe for that in my April 2010 archives). This was the perfect end to a great Mother’s Day dinner, and because I overestimated how many strawberries I’d be needing, I’ll get to reap the benefits all week long.

Biscuit ingredients (vegan!):

1 3/4 C flour

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 1/4 tsp salt

1 tbsp sugar

1/4 C vegan margarine (I used Nucoa)

3/4 C rice milk

Mix all dry ingredients. Mash in butter, stir in milk. Turn onto floured counter and knead a few times. Pat into 1/4 thick dough, cut biscuits out and bake on greased sheet at 450° for ten minutes.

Makes 16 small biscuits. Adapted from the Joy of Cooking.

