Red velvet for my neighbor

by seedpods

I tend to get along pretty well with my neighbors. One of them consistently plays loud music – some of which I know and enjoy – and I often ask him to turn it down in favor of a midday snooze, or because it’s 2 am and I’m trying to sleep.. As the school year is closing, I wanted to bake him a dessert for being so good natured about all of this, and to thank him for being a great person. His favorite cake is red velvet cake (but with buttercream, not cream cheese frosting),  so I adapted a recipe to make this tasty cake.

Ingredients:

1/4 C butter, softened but not melted

3/4 C sugar

1 egg

1 oz red food coloring (for me, this was one bottle)

2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 cup milk

1 1/8 C flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cider vinegar

Begin by creaming together the butter, sugar, and egg. Make food coloring and cocoa into paste, add to creamed ingredients. While my original recipe had an order for adding the other ingredients, I mixed them all into the same big bowl until my batter was no longer lumpy, and turned it into a greased and floured 8″ pan with no problems. Bake for 25 minutes, let cool for ten, and turn gently onto plate. Let cool before frosting. For the icing, I used  Betty Crocker’s vanilla butter frosting:

1/3 C soft butter

3 C powdered sugar

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp milk (add more to make frosting smoother and wetter)

Mix butter and sugar together, add vanilla. Add milk gradually while mixing until frosting reaches desired consistency.

Serves six. Adapted from this recipe.

