Shortcake galore

by seedpods

The grocery store is having a special on strawberries this week, so I decided that it was time to make the first shortcake of the season. I used the Betty Crocker biscuit recipe, with some added sugar and reduced milk. I paired it with delicious fresh strawberries, and had a sunny snack.

Ingredients:

2 C flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/3 cup olive oil

2/3 cup milk

2 tsp apple cider

1 tbsp sugar

Preheat oven to 450°. While the original recipe recommends mixing dry together and then adding the wet all at once, I mixed all ingredients together at the same time without hurting anything. I formed small biscuits (about the size of a golf ball) with my fingers, dropped them onto an ungreased baking sheet, and baked for about 15 minutes, checking to take them out when they were golden brown. Let cool before eating. To make into shortcake, I sliced up some strawberries to go on top, and make homemade whipped cream (take a cup of whipping cream, whip until it forms soft peaks, and add sugar and vanilla to taste, starting with just a bit of each.)

Serves several. Recipe adapted from Betty Crocker’s Buttermilk biscuits.

